Tengen Toppa Gurren Lagann Project


Nothing says happy birthday better than the gift of a man’s flaming soul!

First step of everything. Draw it out.

Then I went and got a wooden board, and copied it.

After drawing it, I proceeded on using a sabre saw to cut it out. This process took over an hour.

OH SHIT. WHAT DID I DO?!

Don’t worry. It’s just paint. I had to wait over 5 hours for it to dry.

The paint I used is… Well, see for yourself.

After it (somewhat) dried, I used a template (you can kind of see it on the top left corner of the first picture) and sprayed painted the glasses (black) on. As you can see in the last picture, it kind of… Blarg’d.

OH SHIT. I THINK I BROKE IT!

Nah. Don’t worry. It’s fine. I only taped it cause I’m spraying the edges black, and I didn’t have a template for that so I used tape to cover the red parts.

I spray painted the nose on. Then I used a calligraphy brush to paint over the screwed up black parts. Why a calligraphy brush? Because I couldn’t find a smaller brush in the garage, and a calligraphy brush adds more of an “Asian” touch to this.

After the paint dried, I applied 1-2 more layers to it, then sanded it with 320 grit sandpaper. As you can (somewhat) see, the paint gets sanded away. So, I applied another layer of paint to it.

This is what it looks like after I added a final (hopefully) layer of red paint on it. I probably won’t use any polish on it, as I don’t know what kind of polish I should use.

This is the almost-final version of it. I’m just going to touch up a bit on the black parts and it’ll be done. laughing

Well, you can barely see the difference between this and the almost-final version.

This was a gift to Pw3age’s birthday. In case you didn’t know what this, or where it was from, it is the Tengen Toppa Gurren Lagann logo. I am thinking of making a Kirby one next, but we’ll see.

One Response to Tengen Toppa Gurren Lagann Project

  1. Pw3age says:

    Of course, I still have this sitting on my desk. Who the hell do you think I am?

Leave a Reply

